The Joy of Vacationing in the Mountains

Kathy Penn stops by the front porch for an installment of our Summer Blogs segment. Grab a cup of coffee and enjoy her story of vacationing in the mountains of North Carolina.

pier-1209549_1920
“Summertime and the livin’ is easy.” At least it is when we spend a week relaxing in the North Carolina mountains. My husband likes to fly fish, so when we don’t make it out West for this activity, we head for the mountains closer to home. I prefer to escape to the mountains when the heat is unbearable in Atlanta, but he likes to fish in the spring during catch and release season which ends May 31, so we compromise by going as late in May as possible.

Typically, I find cabins online, but this time I stumbled across a cabin on the Tuckaseegee River while at a craft festival. When I discovered the owners allowed dogs, the deal was sealed.

It takes a bit of preparation to embark on a week of leisure. For my husband, that means a shopping trip for fishing gear. Me? I like to plan a few easy meals, make a list and head to the grocery and the wine store for the essentials. Wine is essential, right? I say it ranks right up there with coffee and snacks. I don’t want to wake up the first morning without my coffee, and I want cheese, crackers, and other nibbles handy when we arrive the first evening. Throw in staples like olive oil, vinegar, spices, and for this Greek girl, feta cheese, and we’re set. With the SUV loaded with dogs, fishing equipment, books, suitcases, and food, we look like the Clampetts, as we drive away.

Once we settle in, my husband hits the river most mornings with his fly rod in hand, while I savor my coffee and take long walks with the dogs. They enjoy being off leash, chasing rabbits, seeing cows and even llamas, and taking an occasional dip in the river. Next, I relax in a rocker on the porch usually with a book in hand. I do read on my Kindle, but I have such a stockpile of books from library sales, I prefer the real thing unless I’m flying somewhere. It’s hard to pack a week’s worth of books in a carry-on bag and still have room for clothes.

When I’m not reading, I may work a jigsaw puzzle or visit nearby small towns—in this case, Sylva and Dillsboro—to explore the shops. Though I complete lots of my holiday shopping at our local arts festivals, I’m always on the lookout for unique gifts when I travel.

Visiting a few shops or reading leads naturally to an afternoon nap, one of my greatest vacation pleasures.

After happy hour and dinner, we end the evening taking in the stars from the rockers or the hot tub, playing a game, or both. For me, a trip to the mountains is all about relaxing and enjoying unscheduled, unhurried days. We occasionally take active vacations with our bicycles, but on a mountain trip, our goal is to kick back and enjoy “… those lazy, hazy, crazy days of summer.” Here’s to the joy of a vacation in the mountains.

 

Processed with Snapseed.

Processed with Snapseed.

Born in New York City and transplanted to the South in high school, Kathy Manos Penn lives with her husband and their four-legged kids in Dunwoody, Georgia. She taught high school English before embarking on a three-decade career in banking, where, it seemed, she always ended up writing. While still working in the corporate world, she began a side job as a columnist for the local newspaper. She is now happily retired from banking but has no plans to retire from the joyful job of writing.
Her collection of newspaper columns, The Ink Penn: Celebrating the Magic in the Everyday, is available on Amazon as is her humorous novel Lord Banjo the Royal Pooch. She describes her work as “Books to make you smile.” Follow her on Facebook and visit her website to keep up Lord Banjo’s antics. Yes, Lord Banjo is a real dog.

Social Media Links:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KathyManosPennAuthor/
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Kathy-Manos-Penn/e/B01N5Q31FH

Want to be a guest blogger? Visit our webpage at: https://www.bienvenuepress.com/front-porch-blog

Leave a comment